

## 2012 WVC Scholar Athlete Team

Tyler Boddy - UW-Oshkosh
Will Brydon - UW-Oshkosh
Dan Ruys - UW-Oshkosh
Andy Cheever - Lakeland
Dan Sheets-Poling - Lakeland
Kevin Larsen - UW-La Crosse
Jack Hughes - Marquette
Kelsey Konair - UW-Stout Women
Keri Klotzbuecher - UW-Green Bay Women
Lucy Bouressa - UW-Oshkosh Women
Eric Fadel - Moody Bible
Corey Jarvis - Moody Bible
Jonathan Brubaker - Moody Bible

## 2012 WVC Scholar Athlete of the Year

#### Dan Sheets-Polling - Lakeland College

Dan has a 3.7 Career GPA and aiming to graduate with honors in Business Management.

"Dan is a great example of not only what a Muskie should aspire to become, but also what all student-athletes should become. He works hard in everything he does and never lets his academics slip because of a long weekend tournament or bad game. He has great time management skills and fills multiple roles on campus. Dan holds two prestigious jobs as a student ambassador for the admissions department and as a resident assistant for the student life department. Dan is also the president of the Zeta Chi fraternity and a member of the Student Association. Along with his multiple roles, Dan is also a great leader on the court. He is one of the hardest workers in practice and continually works to make others around him better."



## 2012 WVC Service Award

#### Eddie Zelhofer, WVC Advisory Committee

A quick and sincere thank you to Mr Eddie Zelhofer for his commitment and dedication to the WVC. Eddie has been the helping and supporting the WVC as an Advisory Committee member for over a decade, often through his Oshkosh Volleyball connection, but more visibly through his work as the WVC Webmaster. Eddie has turned our website into a useful and effective communication tool, and has been solely responsible for our results and standings for the past 7+ seasons. This year he took the initiative to begin compiling our archives online, as we attempt to record our 21-year history for others to enjoy. In addition, Eddie "sold out" to social media, and found a way to get everyone connected through the WVC Facebook page. And he helped many teams get their sites started as well. Eddie has also worked to keep the "alumni tournament" alive and provide a much needed voice of reason to the Advisory Committee. Eddie is one of the people who you can both count on to get a job done, but more importantly, figure out the job that needed to be done in the first place. Thank you for all you do, and most importantly, thanks for all the work you will continue to do for the WVC!

# 2012 Leif Storvik Sportsmanship Award Nominees

Kaitlyn Sherbo - UWSP Women Lucy Bouressa - UWO Women Jonathan Brubaker - Moody Bible Institute Chris Lawrence - UW-Platteville Men Annie Koberstein - UWW Women

# 2012 Leif Storvik Sportsmanship Award Recipient

#### Dan Ruys - UW-Oshkosh

"This award is presented to the athlete whose attitude and character reflect the high standards of excellence and decency Leif brought to the game. Leif, and the contributions he made to the WVC will be missed, but his memory will live through the recipients of this award."



# 2012 WVC Regular Season Awards - Men's JV Division

JV Regular Season Champions UW-Oshkosh 2

#### JV All Conference Honorable Mention

Andrew Scilling - Northland Will Brydon - UWO 2 Sam Hope - UWW 2 Eric Pfenning - Concordia Brandon Klein - UWW 2 Jack Rivera - UWW 2

#### JV All Conference

Brandon Wegner - UWO 2
Andrew Nett - UWO 2
Dan Redd - MU 2
Jack Hughes - MU 2
Andrew Summers - Northland
Mitch Lahmann - UWO 2
Devon Thomas - UWW 2
Miles Herron - Northland
Joe Lab - Moody Bible
Paul Kolesar - Concordia

#### Libero of the Year (LOY)

Tyler Wiedenhoeft - UWO

#### 2012 MVP

Steve Brunelli - UWO



## est. 1992

## 2012 WVC Regular Season Awards - Women's Division

Playdate #1 Champions UW-Eau Claire
Playdate #2 Champions UW-Green Bay
Playdate #3 Champions UW-Eau Claire

Playdate #1 Most Outstanding Player
Playdate #2 Most Outstanding Player
Playdate #3 Most Outstanding Player
Karen Sueppel - UW-Eau Claire A
Karen Sueppel - UW-Eau Claire A

#### **Statistical Leaders**

Blocks / Set Kirsten Algiers Stevens Point
Kills / Set Erin Bauduin Stevens Point
Aces / Set Jenna Otterholt Stevens Point
Digs / Set Jen Johnas La Crosse
Hitting % Kayla Schuh Stevens Point

#### Honorable Mention All Conference (6)

Elizabeth Edd - River Falls Jennifer Johnas - La Crosse Katie Marty - Whitewater A Leah Monti - Stevens Point Megan Dorner - Platteville Char Reierson - Oshkosh A

#### All Conference (10)

Grace Gelhaus - Stevens Point Emily Feiner - Eau Claire A Kristen Algiers - Stevens Point Janelle Vanderplas - Green Bay Kayla Kasper - Oshkosh A Annie Koberstein - Whitewater Molly Collman - Eau Claire A Leah Klink - Eau Claire A Holly Vogelsang - La Crosse Karen Sueppel - Eau Claire A

#### Libero of the Year (LOY)

Jennifer Johnas - UWL

#### 2012 MVP

Keri Klotzbuecher - Green Bay



# 2012 WVC Regular Season Awards - Men's Varsity Division

#### Season Champs UW-Oshkosh

#### **Statistical Leaders**

Blocks / Set	Dan Ruys	Oshkosh
Kills / Set	Alec Redlich	Lakeland
Aces / Set	Alec Redlich	Lakeland
Assists / Set	Dayton Erickson	Lakeland
Digs / Set	Andy Cheever	Lakeland
Hitting %	Tom Niswonger	Marquette

#### Newcomer of the Year

Alec Redlich - Lakeland College

#### Honorable Mention (6)

Dayton Erickson - Lakeland Tom Niswonger - Marquette Danny Chipman - La Crosse Nick Manning - Marquette Riley Stone - LaCrosse John Jablonowski - La Crosse

#### All Conference (10)

Joe Doperalski - Whitewater
Danny Witke - Whitewater
Sam Pearson - Stout
Nick Mueller - Oshkosh
Bill Meidenbauer - Oshkosh
Kyle Kamperschroer - La Crosse
Alec Redlich - Lakeland
Andy Cheever - Lakeland
Zach Johnson - Oshkosh
Dan Ruys - Oshkosh

#### Libero of the Year (LOY)

Andy Cheever - Lakeland College

#### 2012 MVP

Tyler Boddy - UW-Oshkosh



## 2012 WVC Championship Awards - Men's JV Division

**2012 JV State Champions** UW-Oshkosh 2

2012 JV State Runner Up Northland International University

2012 JV Consolation Champion Concordia University

#### JV All Tournament Team (Selected by Committee)

#15 Eric Fadel MB Moody Bible Institute

#3 Jack Hughes DS Marquette

#4 Andy Summers OH Northland International#17 Andrew Scilling S Northland International

#15 Brandon Wagner MB Oshkosh 2 #4 Bob Hall S Oshkosh 2

Tournament MVP

#13 Will Brydon MB Oshkosh 2 (2<sup>nd</sup> consecutive year)

## 2012 WVC Championship Awards - Women's Division

2012 State Champions UW-Eau Claire A
2012 State Runner Up UW-La Crosse
2012 Consolation Champion UW-Oshkosh B

#### All Tournament Team (Selected by Committee)

#5	Leah Monti	S	Stevens Point
#7	Katelyn Marty	OH	Whitewater A
#23	Jennifer Johnas	L	La Crosse
#15	Holly Vogelsang	OH	La Crosse
#25	Leah Klink	OH	Eau Claire A
#7	Megan Padrut	OP	Eau Claire A

Tournament MVP

#23 Karen Sueppel OH Eau Claire A



# 2012 WVC Championship Awards - Men's Varsity Division

2012 State Champions
 2012 State Runner Up
 2012 Consolation Champion
 UW-Oshkosh
 UW-La Crosse
 Lakeland College

## All Tournament Team (Selected by Committee)

#19	Nick Manning	OH/L	Marquette
#11	Sam Pearson	OP	Stout
#9	Kyle Kamperschroer	ОН	La Crosse
#6	John Jablonowski	ОН	La Crosse
#12	Dan Ruys	MB	Oshkosh
#13	7ach Johnson	MB	Oshkosh

#### **Tournament MVP**

#4 Bill Meidenbauer OH Oshkosh